# Four Counties Transportation Services Committee

# **Minutes**

June 22, 2020, 8:30 a.m. Electronic Participation Meeting via Zoom

Present:	Bonnie Rowe, Chair
	Duncan McPhail, West Elgin
	Linda Dunn, Adult Day Program
	Marigay Wilkins, Southwest Middlesex
	Shelley Vergeer, WECHC
	Ann-Marie Millson, Chatham-Kent
	John Wright, Chatham-Kent
Regrets:	lan Carruthers, Southwest Middlesex
Staff Present:	Magda Badura

: Magda Badura Jana Nethercott

#### 1. Call to Order

Chair Bonnie Rowe called the meeting to order at 8:39 a.m.

## 2. Adoption of Agenda

Resolution No. FCTS 2020-05 Moved: Marigay Wilkins Seconded: Duncan McPhail

Recommendation: That the Four Counties Transportation Services Committee adopt the agenda as circulated.

Carried

#### 3. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

No disclosures

#### 4. Minutes

Resolution No. FCTS 2020-06 Moved: Duncan McPhail Seconded: John Wright

Recommendation: That Four Counties Transportation Services Committee hereby approve the Minutes of February 3, 2020 as amended.

#### Carried

#### 5. Business Arising from Minutes

Chair Bonnie Rowe reported that the Municipality of Brooke Alvinston is interested in participating in Four Counties Transit Service and would like to review an agreement. CAO/Treasurer Magda Badura reported that currently there is no agreement, however West Elgin will approach the County Solicitor to create such an agreement as it is good business sense. Once an agreement has been drafted it will be brought forward to the Board for approval.

Linda Dunn reported that the Adult Day Program administration would prefer that no delegation take place on their behalf. Linda reported that at this time they aren't sure when the Adult Day Program will re-start as there are no plans in place.

#### 6. Financial Information

CAO/Treasurer Magda Badura reported that we should be receiving the Provincial portion of funding for the purchase of the new bus shortly, the purchase of this new bus has been delayed until 2021. Ms. Badura reported that with no trips since March 24, 2020 revenues are down and insurance has been notified that the bus was not in service in hopes of receiving a rebate on the insurance.

# Resolution No. FCTS 2020-07 Moved: Marigay Wilkins Seconded: Linda Dunn

That Four Counties Transportation Services Committee hereby receives the Financial Update as per May 31, 2020 as presented by CAO/Treasurer Magda Badura.

#### Carried

#### 7. Correspondence

7.1 Ministry of Transportation - Guidelines for Public Transit Agencies and Passengers in response to COVID-19

#### 8. New Business

#### 8.1 Update on Service Disruptions due to COVID-19

Shelley Vergeer stated that West Elgin Community Health Centre has been providing essential service trips on their bus for medical appointments, but have had low numbers using the service.

Ann-Marie Millson reported that Chatham-Kent's accessible transit service is currently running one passenger at a time and has taped off seats for physical distancing in their regular transit buses.

Magda Badura reported that staff have investigated protective gear and physical distancing practices for the bus. It is not possible for a protective barrier for the driver due to the fact the driver assists passengers, therefore face shields and masks will be required, along with taping off seats to maintain physical distancing. Ms. Badura reported that municipal staff are checking messages daily and at this point this there are low numbers of inquires.

Four Counties Transit Committee provided direction to Staff to re-start the Four Counties Transit Service when appropriate.

## 8.2 Update on Purchasing of New Bus

Magda Badura, CAO/Treasurer reported that West Elgin Council reviewed the 2020 Capital spending due to COVID-19 Pandemic and postponed the purchase of the new transit bus until 2021 as the funding does not require a purchase in 2020.

# 9. Adjournment

Resolution No. FCTS 2020-08 Moved: Duncan McPhail Seconded: Linda Dunn

Recommendation: That the Four Counties Transportation Services Committee hereby adjourn at 9:26 a.m. to meet again at 8:30 a.m. September 21, 2020, or at the call of the chair.

Carried

Bonnie Rowe, Chair

Jana Nethercott, Clerk